No Ear Has Heard

"What no eye has seen, what no ear has heard, and what no mind has conceived – the things God has prepared for those who love him." 1 Cor. 2:9

Lowell

This is an entry I don’t want to write. But to be honest with you, I usually write about what our experience has been during the current week. And our thoughts and hearts have been consumed this week with the passing of our dear friend and co-missionary Lowell Glick. He died last Thursday, and since then, I’m sure has relished every moment with his Savior. Lowell has been fighting cancer the last couple years, with appointments and treatments being more intense in the last 9-12 months. We only knew Lowell the last 10 years and worked with him the last 9, but he has truly marked our lives forever.

See all that joy! Haha despite a long day, and being surrounded by two small children and a whole bunch of grocery bags.

My intention here isn’t to tell you every great thing about Lowell, that’s too big a task. But here are some things that I felt were unique about him that had an impact on me.

Things that are unique to me about Lowell, especially in the way that I knew him:

The first thing that comes to mind is something his wife Sheri and I would even make jokes about: his positivity despite the odds. We often have had trips to the Huichol/Wixarika village with the unexpected delays, popped tires, break downs, one more family wanting to squeeze in an already full van, a million different things. And with each of these things Lowell would tell someone concerned like Sheri or I….”It’ll be fine!” with the hugest smile on his face as he watched the concern grow on ours. In the midst of all the chaos in the world, he was still a man of great joy.

There was one trip where our truck broke down on the side of the mountain. We later found out this was due to an electrical problem. But on this mountainside road all we knew was we weren’t going to make it to the village in this state. Lowell suggested we turn the truck around and head downhill as we could probably make it to the next town that way, downhill. As Stephen turned the truck around it then completely lost all power as the truck was parallel to the road. Panic set in for me. People can come racing downhilll on these curves and by the time they saw us they wouldn’t be able to slow down. I don’t remember panic in Lowell’s face. He jumped in and helped several other people to push the truck into a safer position. Throughout this whole time (on a list of times I thought I was going to see Jesus in a few minutes!), I remember Lowell thinking about all the possibilities and solutions, but with a steadfastness, not worry, not fear, but a level headed steadfastness needed to solve the issue.

Lastly is also how I remember every trip to the Huichol village ending with Lowell. Once we arrived to Fresnillo where Lowell and team would stay, and we would continue on to Zacatecas, Lowell would make a point to pull over and come over to thank us for all our help. It wasn’t something he had to do, but we always felt seen and appreciated. It’s easy in the ministry to not have this trait of thankfulness or appreciation, especially with those who have served with you for years, but Lowell made it a point, every time. I know his thankfulness to God was even greater, as it was reflected in the way he talked and prayed. I know this has already rubbed off on me and how I try to thank leaders and volunteers every time we do something together. I intend on keeping this part of the way I relate to people I work with, a small but great way that Lowell impacted by life and ministry.

I know that he received that same thankfulness from God for his faithfulness to follow and love Him, and his answer to the call to serve Him and give his all.

One comment on “Lowell

  1. Gail Robert
    May 30, 2022

    Lowell was one of the very first people I met when I started mission work with Fred. His love for Jesus shined through in everything he did. His heart for God’s people was enormous and his servant’s heart is an example to all of us. He is missed already but I know he is in our Lord’s embrace, in the presence of our God that he loved so dearly.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 24, 2022 by .